Skip to main content

The Warm EP offers the listener a musical mosaic of moods and ambitions that reflect songwriter Tim Hawkes’ various influences. Hawkes main contention hinges on the issues of social conscience. Many of his songs are founded in the common experience and act as an expression of humanity as a whole. Mother Nature’s Problem Child is a spicy, rock oriented spiritual eco-love song. Your Way is a lament for a bad choice made out of passion. What’s It For is a tale of personal struggle with one’s own ego and the repercussions of decisions made. Disappearing Lines is a rock ballad full of angst, a song about understanding and transition.

Why, the signature song of the EP is a song with deep emotion and groove that allows the listener a glimpse of what Hawkes is all about. Together these songs make an interesting collage that is an enjoyable earful from beginning to end. Warm’s enthusiastic pop sensibility attracts the audience and lets its originality and character keep them listening. Warm began spontaneously as Hawkes was in the studio committing to tape some of what had become a large body of new songs. This proved to be the catalyst that fomented the layered rock aesthetic that finally balances Hawkes’ probing lyric. Although largely conceived in the studio Hawkes delivers his tightly arranged thinking-man’s music. Whether you’re feeling Warm’s evocative musical semantic or their lyrical blend of questioning sarcasm and hopeful observation, I think you’ll agree; hot is more like it.

Produced and Engineered by Roman Klun and Mark Zubeck
Recorded at Highland Studios, Hamilton ON
Mastered and Sequenced by Ed Marshall at Marshall Arts Productions
Additional Edits by Dave Mackellar at Threshold Audio

Lead Vocals and Harmonica Tim Hawkes
Guitars. Mark Zubeck, Bill Dillon, Mark Foley
Bass and Keyboards Mark Zubeck
Drums Roman Klun and Mark Zubeck
Additional Instrumentation Steve Crown

All Songs Written by Tim Hawkes

Cover Concept and Art Direction Martin Korstanje / Kane Design